Mitchell Travel Grant

Deepen your insight into architectural design through travel

The Utah Center for Architecture invites Utah’s emerging and recently licensed architects to apply for the inaugural Friends of Elizabeth Mitchell Travel Grant.

This $2,000 grant enables those early in their careers to expand their understanding of design by experiencing and studying architectural solutions in other places.

For more information, please click on one of the following links:




About Elizabeth Mitchell, Honorary AIA

This scholarship program was created by members and friends of AIA Utah to recognize Elizabeth Mitchell, Hon. AIA, Executive Director, 1990-2011.

As Executive Director and an AIA leader, Elizabeth Mitchell focused particularly on community design, sustainable design education, and on the Institute’s obligation to first serve members. She was awarded Honorary AIA designation, the highest award given to non-architects, by the Institute in 2007.

Upon Elizabeth Mitchell’s retirement, national AIA sent the following citation: “… (We present this award) in recognition of her exemplary service to the members of AIA Utah, the Council of Architectural Component Executives, and as a member of the Board of Directors of The American Institute of Architects. Former CACE President and Chair of the AIA’s Livable Communities Committee, beloved by the Institute’s national staff and a champion of the art of leadership, her career demonstrates that when softly spoken words are backed up by compassion and intelligence, a big stick is not necessary to get results.” President Clark Manus, FAIA


AIA Utah, a Chapter of The American Institute of Architects: Friends of Elizabeth Mitchell Travel Grant contributors

ajc architects

Alder Sales Corporation

Architectural Nexus

Babcock Design Group

BHB Consulting

Big-D Construction

Bradley Gygi Architect


Colvin Engineering

EDA, Inc. Architects

FFKR Architects

GSBS Architects

Hogan Construction

Hughes General Contractors

JRCA Architects

Lloyd Architects

MHTN Architects

Elizabeth Mitchell, Hon. AIA

Okland Construction

Prescott Muir Architects

Reaveley Engineers

Sparano + Mooney Architecture

Utah Masonry Council

VCBO Architecture

Burtch W. Beall Jr., FAIA

David Hart, FAIA

Robert Herman, FAIA

Kristin Hill, Assoc. AIA

Stanley Kane, AIA

Jim Lohse, AIA

Richard Lowe, AIA

Adam Mow, AIA, Esq.

Stephen Smith, FAIA

Michael Vela, AIA